The Go8 Team

Ms Vicki Thomson

Chief Executive

Vicki Thomson is the Chief Executive of the Group of Eight, taking up the role in January 2015.

Prior to this role she was Executive Director of the Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN).

Ms Thomson's diverse background covers print and electronic journalism, politics, issues management and the higher education sector. She has an extensive media, political and policy background and was Chief of Staff to a South Australian Premier.

She is a Board member of the European Australian Business Council and is a member of the Australian Government's New Colombo Plan Steering Group.

She is a former Board member of the Australia-China Business Council. She is also a member of MS Research Australia's Leadership Council, a small national group of people intended to help keep MS Research Australia's strategy contemporary and relevant. This passion is driven by her own personal experience of having a sister with the debilitating disease.

She has extensive experience in building relationships between business, industry and universities, and supporting increased access to university for people from all backgrounds.

In 2016 she was named in The Australian Newspaper’s Top 30 most influential people in Higher Education.


Other staff

Dr Matthew Brown
Deputy Chief Executive,, (02) 6175 0708

Dr Sally Nimon
Director, Strategic Planning and Industry Policy,, (02) 6175 0710

Ms Cheryl Kut
Director, Research Policy, , (02) 6175 0709

Mr Felix Pirie
Director, Education and Equity,, (02) 6175 0707

Ms Alex Kennedy
Strategic Advisor,, (02) 6175 0703, 0439 444 639 (for media enquiries)

Dr Ruth Lee Martin
Director, Policy and Strategic Projects,  , (02) 6175 0705, 0421 555 367

Mr Kym Holthouse
Project Officer, , (02) 6175 0714

Ms Tracey Hinchley
Chief Operating Officer, , (02) 6175 0701

Ms Sara Thomsen
Executive Support Officer,, (02) 6175 0700

General office number: (02) 6175 0700